How to lock Facebook profile?

How to lock Facebook profile
How to lock Facebook profile

Facebook has over 2.9 billion monthly active users according to Statista. Among them there are millions of fake accounts. If you are a girl, you may come across an account that uses your name and re-uploaded your pictures from your wall.

Stalking someone is easier on Facebook as most people share so much of their personal life on Facebook. It was really easy to access anyone’s timeline and download their profile picture.

But Facebook took some steps to provide privacy to the users who want to limit the access to their profile. It’s called Facebook Profile Lock. It’s been a few years since it was announced.

At the very beginning, the Profile Lock feature was not available for the masses. Only a few people had this feature on their profile. Now it’s widely available and anyone on Facebook can lock their profile.

Why Should You Lock Your Facebook Profile?

Before you enable profile lock on your profile, you should have a crystal clear idea on what it covers and what it doesn’t.

Locking your Facebook profile means you are restricting all of your past posts and photos to your friends only, even if they were public when you posted. As well as, only your friends can view your full profile picture and cover photo. 

Those who aren’t your friend, will see just the thumbnail and can’t view it in full size. As well as they won’t be able to check your updates on your wall. 

But some of your public profile details will be shown to everyone but not more than 5. Such as follower numbers, hometown, living town, relationship, bio, etc. 

Your Facebook Stories will also be set to Friends only. So, you can’t share anything publicly, everything you share will be friends only.

So, if you are afraid of someone stealing your pictures from your timeline, then it’s wise to lock your facebook profile and unfriend suspicious persons from your friendlist if there’s any. 

How to lock your Facebook profile on Android & iPhone

Facebook mobile app has this feature integrated. So, if you are using the latest version of Facebook on your device, you can easily lock your profile. Here’s how:

  1. Open the Facebook app on your smartphone.
  2. Tap on your profile picture.
  3. Click on the icon beside the Edit Profile button.
  4. Click on Lock Profile. Read all the info about locking profile.
  5. Click on Lock your profile to confirm.

If it’s done successfully, you can see  that you have locked your profile on the screen.

How to lock your Facebook profile on a computer?

If you are using Facebook on a computer, most probably you are using it on a browser. You can also lock your profile from any browser. Here’s how:

  1. Open www.facebook.com on your browser and login to your account.
  2. Click on your account name and it will take you to your profile.
  3. Click on the below Edit Profile.
    Go-to-your-profile
  4. Click on Lock Profile.
    Click-on-lock-profile
  5. Now click on Lock your profile.
    Click-on-Lock-your-profile

Now, if you know the process of locking your facebook profile, you should also know how to unlock it. Because if at some point you feel like you need to publish something publicly, there’s no way available without unlocking your profile.

How to unlock your Facebook profile?

Unlocking a Facebook profile is as easy as locking it. The process is similar and it only takes a few seconds to unlock facebook profile. Here’s how:

  • Open the Facebook app on your device or go to Facebook from a computer.
  • Go to your profile.
  • Click on the icon beside the Edit Profile button (Below the Edit Profile button on the computer).
    Go-to-your-profile
  • Click on Unlock Profile.
    Click-on-Unlock-profile
  • Click on the Unlock icon.
    Click-on-Unlock
  • Now click on Unlock your profile.
    Click-on-Unlock-your-profile

What happens when you unlock your Facebook profile?

Unlocking your Facebook profile will restore the previous settings of those posts and photos you posted before locking your profile. Because when you lock your profile, all of your public updates become friends only. When you unlock your profile, those updates will be reverted back to the public.

But if you upload something while your profile is locked, those updates will be friends only even if you unlock your profile.

Once you unlock your profile, anyone can view your profile picture and cover photo in full size. 

So, think before you unlock your Facebook profile, because it may harm your privacy in some way.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can people send me friend requests if my profile is locked?

Yes, you can’t turn off incoming friend requests. But you can change it from everyone to friends of friends if you want. But people can still send you a friend request even if your profile is locked.

Will my profile be available on People You May Know if my profile is locked?

Locking your profile doesn’t mean vanishing your profile from the public. It just means the public can’t access your profile picture, cover photo or timeline. But your profile will still be suggested to many people who may know you. As they won’t be able to see your full profile picture, they may recognize you by your name and cropped picture.

Can people post on my profile if my profile is locked?

No, as soon as you lock your profile, Profile Review is enabled by default. So, if anyone posts on your timeline, you have to manually approve it or it won’t be posted on your wall.

Can people tag me if my profile is locked?

Tag review is enabled with profile review when you lock your profile. If your friends tag you on a picture, you have to approve it from your profile. Also remember, with your profile being locked, you can only tag your friends on your photos. You can’t tag someone who isn’t your friend.

Can people view my info if I lock my profile?

Profile details are mostly public such as hometown, living town or relationship status. If you have more than 5 public details on your profile, Facebook will show maximum 5 details to the public. To avoid this issue, you can change the privacy of those details to Friends from Public.

Can I hide my bio from the public if I lock my profile?

Unfortunately, your bio is visible to everyone. You can’t change its privacy even if you lock your profile.

Posted by
Uchchash

Founder of Techinheart. A football lover & tech enthusiast.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *